Bloody Monday Vol. 1

13 03 2008

Bloody Monday Cover 1

Today, I bring to you the review of Bloody Monday. I had intended to introduce this manga to everyone earlier, however I didn’t want to write a crappy review that the manga certainly does not deserve, so I took longer than expected. I really love this manga and it’s currently one of my two favourite titles, the other being Mx0. Anyway, I hope you enjoy reading my reviews and hopefully they’re of help to you.

Takagi Fujimaru is Falcon; a young, talented hacker who was employed to work for the government after getting caught. Fujimaru now hacks for the police force of Japan and has helped solved many cases.

It was then that a piece of memory chip was recovered from inside a murdered Russian man’s corpse. Inside it contains what might be a clue to a massive terrorist attack that just occurred in Russia. Falcon was sought in order to decipher the codes and reveal what is hidden in the chip. However, things were not going smoothly for Falcon. Not only was he not able to progress on the deciphering of the chip because his new teacher, Ms. Orihara, accidentally destroyed his super-computer laptop, his father was framed for killing another police officer and is now on the run.

When the deciphering of the chip was finally completed, it turned out to be a home-made video, filmed in Russia during Christmas and titled “Genocide of Christmas” in Russian. It showed a little girl who had blood oozing out of her eyes before a man with his whole body full of pores appearing. A display of the virus’s fatality. Fujimaru made another shocking discovery when he analyzed the video further. A familiar Japanese woman was spotted in the video and it turned out to be none other than his new teacher… Orihara Maya. When confronted, Maya had a solid alibi to prove she was in Japan, and not in Russia on the day of Christmas. Is this purely a coincidence or … is there more than what it seems?

This is a fascinating suspense manga that I think is receiving lesser popularity than it should. I really think this manga should be exposed more and that’s also why I didn’t want to do anything (e.g. a crappy review) that will undermine its popularity. This manga has a deep plot and it is the very reason why I am so interested in it. I just can’t wait for the next volume, Kinokuniya should hurry up and import volume 4, god dammit! And I just discovered that this title has only 5 volumes, if I am not wrong. Oh man, I didn’t think it would end so early.

Humor: 3/10 (Terrorist, virus, blood are no laughing matters, my friend)
Plot: 9/10 (The reason why I can’t let it down once I start reading it)
Character Design: 6/10
Overall: 9/10 (You’d be a fool not to read it)

Very unfortunately for readers who do not know Japanese, once again this title is only published in Japanese.

Actions

Information

8 responses

13 03 2008
Exodiac

woah,seems nice. is it wordy?

13 03 2008
ルルーシュ

It does seems to be a little wordy, but I didn’t really felt that it was wordy while I was reading it. (: It’s definitely less wordy than Death Note, though.

There are some computer technical terms in the manga though. It wouldn’t be a problem if it were in English but in Japanese… -_-“

14 03 2008
Soshi

The art seems really familiar for some reason. I think I might pick this up the next time I head down to Kinokuniya! It combines my favourites: technology and conspiracies. XD

面白そうね! そのタイプの漫画好き?  ルルーシュさんは コメディー漫画を好きと思ういます。 (笑)

14 03 2008
ルルーシュ

Yeah, definitely, the plot is really good. The way Falcon uses hacking to overcome nearby enemies in battles is simply.. astonishing. Please pick this manga up, I think it deserves more attention! Haha.

はい、よくこのタイプの漫画が好きです。プロットが深いですからね。ちょっとだけデスノーとみたいような感じがします。

11 06 2008
黒尾

Yes, this manga is good. I picked it up off a shelf because I liked the art, but that wasn’t all that I ended up liking. This goes on the top 5 of my manga list, and it’s a five way tie at first place.

コメディーが好きなら銀玉を読みますか?

11 06 2008
ルルーシュ

Yeah it really is awesome. I bought volume 5 and finished it in one or two days. It’s that good.

コメディーが好きなんですけど、銀魂のアニメを見たがあります。余り好きじゃありませんでした。すみません。自分の趣味に合わないかな。^^

20 10 2008
Nanya

Hi Julius,

Nice to see an English review of Bloody Monday. I only got three volumes of this manga as BK1 seems to run out of stock and I have to wait 1-3 weeks for the rest of the manga. I think the plot is pretty interesting but there are parts in the plot that seem to be quite illogical. I mean if Fujimaru is a genius hacker, he should be clever enough to know he shouldn’t be cracking extermely secret codes in class. He should also understand the importance of confidentialtiy and not tell his friend (no matter how much he trust) about the tasks his dad gave him. He should also instantly see through the trick in the rental video scene. Still, I enjoy the manga and the artwork is very pretty.

18 11 2008

Leave a Reply

