Words @ Geass: #3

3 03 2008

Alright, I thought I would be able to do a manga review by today but seems like it was another busy day for me! Oh well, anyway, I didn’t plan to do this today but since it’s been days since I updated so here are some more words for everyone! (:

(のち) Later

Source of phrase: Japanese Manga オルフィナーサーガ #1
Original phrase: 後に「古き血」「古い貴族」と呼ばれる血筋となる (Later, the bloodline is called Old Blood, Old Aristocrat).
Usage example: ここで、一人のお爺さんが倒れたの。後に、病院に運ばれたんだ。(An old man collapsed here just now. Later, he was carried to the hospital).

(さかのぼ)Weird. I thought it was a simple word that needed only a search in the dictionary. However nothing turned up. I’ll do more research and see how it goes. Will update this post when I have the answer.

Source of phrase: Japanese Manga オルフィナーサーガ #1
Original phrase: その建国はおよそ200年前に遡りトーヴェクトの将軍であった (N.A)
Usage example: N.A

(ち)(なまぐさ)生臭い is to mean the smell from blood or fishes, or just smelly I guess. I think it’s the very raw kind of smell that seafood gives off. And 血 means blood, so together, I can deduce roughly that the word means the fresh, raw smell of… BLOOD!

Source of phrase: Japanese Manga オルフィナーサーガ #1
Original phrase: 血腥い事件を度々引き起こしていた (Bloody incidents kept occurring).
Usage example: 僕は魚屋が嫌いです。とても生臭いですから。 (I hate the fish market, because it gives off a very bad (raw) smell).

Do check back when I’ve updated the definition for 遡り. Damn. If it isn’t so late now I would have give it more research before hitting the bed. Oh well, night people! (:

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

