Words @ Geass: #1

23 02 2008

Very frequently, I encounter words (lots of them!) that I do not understand while reading Japanese manga. Usually (when I’m not feeling lazy), I will take the time to check up on the words. I do so because I am really passionate about learning Japanese (: However, sometimes checking up the word on a dictionary (I recommend http://www.j-prep.com) is simply not enough. Many a time, I found myself spending a lot of time analyzing the word and how it is used. Sometimes I even have to use logic and reasonings to analyze the words. So I thought I would share with everyone how I go about dissecting the words and analyzing them to conclude an answer. Do note that I have often failed to get an absolute conclusion on the true meaning behind the words, so there’s no guarantee that I always get an answer. Anyway, we shall all learn Japanese together. Do tell me if you know what it means when I don’t. (:

(き)く耳(みみ)もたん聞く耳 means a hearing ear. もたん here is not a word that can be found in the dictionary because it is not at its root/dictionary form. But I can roughly guess how it was changed to its current form and from what word. It is probably changed from もたない, which is to mean “do not possess/have”. So in this case, 聞く耳もたん, means “do not possess a ear that wants to hear”.

Source of phrase: Japanese Manga ブラッディ.マンデイ(Bloody Monday) #3
Original phrase: テロリストの話など聞く耳もたん!(Literally, I do not have ears that listen to what a terrorist have to say!)
Usage example: 僕は今忙しいから何も聞く耳もたん!(I can’t bother to listen to anything you say now because I’m really busy!)

経由(けいゆ) – Easy. Able to locate meaning in dictionary. It means ‘go by the way’, ‘via’. Via the Internet, via PIE, CTE, etc. You get what I mean.

Source of phrase: Japanese Manga ブラッディ.マンデイ(Bloody Monday) #3
Original phrase: みんなネット経由で仕入れた音声だ (All the sounds are gotten via the Internet)
Usage example: あの運転手さん、PIE経由で行ってください。(Erm, Mr.Driver, please go by the way/via of PIE please!)

人を見(み)る目(め) – Literally means ‘Eyes that look at someone’. But judging from the scenario and way it was used in the manga, I conclude that its real meaning refers to the ability to judge someone. This is like how you always hear your elders say, “I can tell a person with a look very well!”.

…Yeah.

Source of phrase: Japanese Manga オルフィーナサーが(Orphina SAGA) #1
Original phrase: 腕と人を見る目は確かですよ (His fighting skills and the ability to judge people is not to be denied).
Usage example 1:サラよ、僕を信じてください!僕の人を見る目は間違ったことがない!アイツは悪い人ですよ!(Please believe me, Sarah! I’ve never failed to judge someone before, I’m sure he’s a bad guy!)
Usage example 2: 人を見る目が悪かったよ。間違った人を信じてしまった。(My judgment has failed me. I have believed in the wrong person).

Example 2 changed slightly due to particle error. Thanks to bangin!

This is the end of the first lesson at Geass! I hope to be able to do this daily or at least once in two days. I’m still far from being good at Japanese so if there is any mistakes, do feel free to point it out to me. We’re going to learn Japanese together! 😀

Do tell me if this kind of thing is helping with your progress with Japanese. If you don’t leave me a comment, I’ll never know! (:

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 02 2008
bangin

「人を見る目は悪かったよ」は他のものがそのかわり悪くない、という風に聞こえるよ。実際そういうシーンなのかな?
「人を見る目が悪かったよ」の方が、自然に聞こえるかな。間違ってはないけどね。

24 02 2008
ルルーシュ

いやいや、「Usage example」というのは他にもその言葉が使える例えを見せる為に作った文章です。

そうですか。じゃエディットします。ありがとうね。これからもバンギンさんがここに来て、僕の日本語レッスンをチェックする事をお願いしますっ!きっと勉強になると思っています^^

他の言葉の説明はちゃんとやりましたかな?

Leave a Reply

